Media inquiry expert list

The political communication scholars who wrote and signed this letter are available for expert interviews and other media inquiries.

Mid-Atlantic | The South | The Midwest | The Southwest | The West | International experts

Mid-Atlantic

Leticia Bode
Associate Professor, Georgetown University
Misinformation, social media, content moderation
lb871@georgetown.edu
Washington, DC

Jay Rosen
Journalism, election coverage, citizens agenda
rosen.jay@gmail.com
New York

Rebekah Tromble
Associate Professor, School of Media & Public Affairs, George Washington University
Social media, disinformation, hate speech
rtromble@gwu.edu
Washington, DC

David C. Wilson
Professor, Political Science and Psychological & Brain Sciences, University of Delaware
Polling, election corruption, political attitudes
davidc.wilson.phd@gmail.com
Delaware

Silvio Waisbord
Professor, George Washington University
Global journalism, populism, post-truth
waisbord@gwu.edu
Washington, DC

Dannagal Young
Associate Professor, Departments of Communication and Political Science and International Relations, University of Delaware
Political polarization, political psychology, political entertainment/satire
dgyoung@udel.edu
New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware

Khadijah Costly White
Assistant Professor, Department of Journalism and Media Studies, Rutgers University
Political discourse, race, activism
khadijah.white@rutgers.edu
New Jersey

The South

Kirsten Adams
Graduate Research Fellow, Center for Information, Technology, and Public Life, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
Journalism & democracy, partisanship & polarization, press endorsements
kkirsten@live.unc.edu
North Carolina

Chris Bail
Polarization Lab, Duke University
Social media, polarization, misinformation
christopher.bail@duke.edu
North Carolina

Megan Duncan
Assistant professor, School of Communication, Virginia Tech
Partisan news audiences, news credibility, online partisan news
meganduncan@vt.edu
Virginia

Daniel Kreiss
Associate Professor, Hussman School of Journalism and Media, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
Media, platforms, electoral politics
dkreiss@email.unc.edu
North Carolina

Mallory Perryman
Assistant Professor, Virginia Commonwealth University
Media bias, public trust in news, broadcast journalism
mallory.perryman@gmail.com
Virginia

Joshua M. Scacco
Associate Professor, Department of Communication, University of South Florida
Presidential communication, digital news, campaign communication
jscacco@usf.edu
Florida

Kathleen Searles
Associate Professor of Political Communication, Louisiana State University
News and politics, partisan news, poll coverage
ksearles@lsu.edu
Louisiana

Shannon McGregor
Assistant professor, Hussman School of Journalism and Media, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Social media, public opinion, political campaigns, platform content policy
shannonmcg@unc.edu
North Carolina

The Midwest

Kathleen Culver
Associate Professor, School of Journalism & Mass Communication, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Journalism ethics, emerging media, misinformation/disinformation
kbculver@wisc.edu
Wisconsin

James Druckman
Department of Political Science, Northwestern University
Polls, polarization, public opinion
druckman@northwestern.edu
Illinois

Stephanie Edgerly
Associate Professor, Medill School, Northwestern University
News audiences, news avoiders, news literacy
stephanie.edgerly@northwestern.edu
Illinois

Ben Epstein
Associate Professor of Political Science, DePaul University
Political communication innovations, American political development, media literacy
bepstein@depaul.edu
Illinois, California

Ashley Muddiman
Associate Professor, Department of Communication Studies, University of Kansas
Media Effects, incivility, digital News
ashley.muddiman@ku.edu
Kansas, Missouri

Stuart Soroka
Michael W. Traugott Collegiate Professor of Communication and Media & Political Science, Department of Communication and Media, University of Michigan
Political communication, media effects, negativity bias
ssoroka@umich.edu
Michigan

Benjamin Toff
Assistant Professor, Hubbard School of Journalism and Mass Communication, University of Minnesota
Polling and public opinion, news audiences, changing media
bjtoff@umn.edu
Minnesota

Nikki Usher
Associate Professor, College of Media, University of Illinois
Media criticism, journalism, platforms
nusher@illinois.edu
Illinois

Michael W. Wagner
School of Journalism and Mass Communication, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Polarization, news coverage, voting methods
mwagner8@wisc.edu
Wisconsin

Scott Althaus
Merriam Professor of Political Science and Professor of Communication, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Political communication, public opinion
salthaus@illinois.edu
Illinois

Kjerstin Thorson
Associate Professor, College of Communication Arts & Sciences, Michigan State University
News audiences, political communication, news on social media
thorsonk@msu.edu
Michigan

Danielle Kilgo
Assistant Professor, Hubbard School of Journalism and Mass Communication, University of Minnesota
Civil Unrest & Protest, Race, Journalism Ethics
Dkilgo@umn.edu
Minnesota

The Southwest

Jessica T. Feezell
Associate Professor, University of New Mexico
Political communication, political behavior, information communication technology
jfeezell@unm.edu
New Mexico

Samara Klar
Associate Professor, University of Arizona
Voter behavior, partisanship, independent voters
klar@arizona.edu
Arizona

Jennifer R. Mercieca
Associate Professor, Department of Communication, Texas A&M University
Rhetoric, political communication, and propaganda.
dr.rhetoric@gmail.com
Texas

Stephen D. Reese
Jesse H. Jones Professor, School of Journalism and Media, University of Texas
Framing, sociology of news, global journalism
steve.reese@utexas.edu
Texas

The West

Mike Annany
Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism, University of Southern California
Platforms, media ethics, journalism practices
ananny@gmail.com
California

Amber E. Boydstun
Professor of Political Science & Chancellor’s Fellow, UC Davis
Media attention, issue framing, news production
aboydstun@ucdavis.edu
California

Allissa Richardson
Assistant Professor of Journalism , Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism, University of Southern California
Smartphones and social justice, digital activism, protest journalism
allissar@usc.edu
California

Fred Turner
Harry and Norman Chandler Professor of Communication, Stanford University
Media history, The ‘60s, Media and authoritarianism
fturner@stanford.edu
California

International experts

In addition to US-based experts, there are three international experts available:

Claes de Vreese
Professor and Chair of Political Communication at The Amsterdam School of Communication Research, University of Amsterdam
Political journalism, public opinion, platforms and elections
c.h.devreese@uva.nl

Rasmus Kleis Nielsen
Reuters Institute for the Study of Journalism, University of Oxford
News use, digital media, political communication
rasmus.nielsen@politics.ox.ac.uk

Cristian Vaccari
Professor of Political Communication, Loughborough University
Elections, social media, comparative research
cristian.vaccari@gmail.com

Ulrike Klinger 
Professor for Political Theory and Digital Democracy, European New School of Digital Studies Frankfurt, Weizenbaum Institute for the Networked Society Berlin
Elections, Social Media, Disinformation
klinger@europa-uni.de